TelstraAFL Live Pass
Main content
Proudly Sydney


Rohan's clean sweep

Nicola Blatchford  July 11, 2017 11:15 AM

Red hot Rohan - Rd 16, 2017 Sydney Swan Gary Rohan kicked his first five-goal haul in the Swans' 67-point win over the Suns
Gary Rohan booted a career-high five goals against Gold Coast on Saturday afternoon.

Gary Rohan booted a career-high five goals against Gold Coast on Saturday afternoon.

Star forward Gary Rohan has cleaned up in the AFL Coaches Association Player of the Year votes, collecting a perfect 10 from his explosive performance at the SCG on Saturday.

Rohan kicked a career high five goals against the Gold Coast Suns and backed them up with 16 disposals, nine marks, and two tackles.

He was one of only four players to receive the clean sweep in round 16 of the Premiership season, proving he’s playing a crucial role in the Swans’ return to winning form.

Rohan wasn’t the only one to impress in the 67-point win, with four of his teammates rounding out the vote getters.

Defender Dane Rampe, who finished the game with 13 marks and 25 disposals, received seven votes for his influential performance against a quality Suns forward line.

Luke Parker (5 votes) and Jake Lloyd (4 votes) headed the game for disposals, and Dean Towers (4 votes) was recognized for booting two goals and collecting 21 disposals in his 10th game for the season. 

Geelong’s Patrick Dangerfield (81 votes) has re-claimed the lead in the overall point score for this year’s award. Dangerfield now sits eight votes ahead of Richmond’s Dustin Martin (73 votes), and St Kilda’s Sebastian Ross has edged his way into the top three with 58 votes.

AFLCA Champion Player of the Year – Round 16
10 - Gary Rohan
7 - Dane Rampe
5 - Luke Parker
4 - Jake Lloyd
4 - Dean Towers

2017 Leaderboard 
81 - Patrick Dangerfield (Geelong)
73 - Dustin Martin (Richmond)
58 - Sebastian Ross (St Kilda)
57 - Elliot Yeo (West Coast Eagles)
57 - Dayne Zorko (Brisbane Lions)
56 - Joel Selwood (Geelong)
54 - Tom Mitchell (Hawthorn)
53 - Gary Ablett (Gold Coast Suns)
53 - Rory Sloane (Adelaide)
50 - Clayton Oliver (Melbourne)