Main content
Proudly Sydney

Captain Kennedy delivers

Josh Kennedy looks to get the handball away against North Melbourne on Sunday.

Sydney Swans captain Josh Kennedy has received the maximum votes for his outstanding performance against North Melbourne on Sunday.

Kennedy was handed the full ten votes in the AFL Coaches Association’s Champion Player of the Year award following his 37 disposals in Sunday’s win.

He dominated North Melbourne in the contested football and went into half time having amassed 26 disposals.

Coach John Longmire praised the work rate of Kennedy after the match.

“He was so happy about last week, getting the first win and really set himself to play well again,” Longmire said.

“He’s mentally strong and was fantastic, particularly early.”

Luke Parker’s match was also acknowledged by the coaches as he received eight votes for his 36 disposals, 11 clearances and two goals.

Dan Hannebery (5 votes), Nic Newman (4 votes) and Sam Reid (3 votes) rounded out the vote getters for the match.

West Coast utility Elliot Yeo (43 votes) is the new leader of the award nudging ahead of Adelaide midfielder Rory Sloane by one vote.

10 Josh Kennedy (Syd)
8 Luke Parker (Syd)
5 Dan Hannebery (Syd)
4 Nic Newman (Syd)
3 Sam Reid (Syd)

43 Elliot Yeo (WC)
42 Rory Sloane (Adel)
36 Clayton Oliver (Melb)
32 Gary Ablett (GC)
31 Marcus Bontempelli (WB)
31 Sebastian Ross (StK)
31 Joel Selwood (Geel)
29 Ollie Wines (PA)
27 Marc Murphy (Carl)
27 Jack Steven (StK)