Main content
Proudly Sydney

Swans trio among the best

Fill-in Sydney Swans ruckman Aliir Aliir contends with Essendon big man Zac Clarke.

Sydney Swans stars Aliir Aliir, Josh Kennedy and Isaac Heeney all polled votes for the AFL Coaches' Association's Champion Player of the Year award after Saturday's loss to Essendon.

Aliir thrived as Sydney's fill-in ruckman, collecting 17 touches (10 contested), eight clearances, eight inside 50s and 22 hit-outs to earn six coaches votes after the MCG clash.

Meanwhile, Kennedy (35 possessions, 20 contested) and Heeney (33, 11) tallied four votes each.

Round 16 - Sydney Swans v Essendon

10 David Zaharakis (ESS)
6 Aliir Aliir (SYD)
4 Isaac Heeney (SYD)
4 Josh Kennedy (SYD)
3 Michael Hurley (ESS)
3 Andrew McGrath (ESS)


78 Tim Kelly      
70 Marcus Bontempelli 
68 Lachie Neale
65 Ben Cunnington 
62 Patrick Cripps 
62 Luke Shuey
58 Travis Boak
57 Nat Fyfe  
56 Brodie Grundy
53 Max Gawn
51 Patrick Dangerfield  
48 Brad Crouch
45 Stephen Coniglio
44 Tim Taranto 
43 Elliot Yeo  
42 Gary Ablett 
42 Luke Parker
42 Scott Pendlebury 
40 Dayne Zorko
38 Ricky Henderson