In his 100th match, Sam Reid was one of the stars of the show on Friday night kicking six goals against the Western Bulldogs.

While it wasn’t quite enough to get his team over the line, the Swans’ big man certainly caught the attention of the coaches, receiving nine votes in this year’s AFL Coaches’ Association’s Champion Player of the Year award.

Fellow forward Lance Franklin, who turned the game on its head with three memorable fourth quarter goals to finish with four for the match, picked up one vote.

The duo were the only Swans players to receive votes, with the Western Bulldogs’ Marcus Bontempelli (nine), Easton Wood (four), Lin Jong (three), Liam Picken (three) and Marcus Adams (one) rounding out the vote getters.

Leading the award is Essendon’s Zach Merrett and Port Adelaide’s Ollie Wines, who top the leaderboard on 18 votes.

Shadforth Financial Group AFLCA Champion Player of the Year - Round 2

Western Bulldogs v Sydney Swans

9 – Sam Reid
9 – Marcus Bontempelli
4 – Easton Wood
3 – Lin Jong
3 – Liam Picken
1 – Marcus Adams
1 – Lance Franklin

2017 Leaderboard
18 – Zach Merrett (Essendon)

18 – Ollie Wines (Port Adelaide)
17 – Clayton Oliver (Melbourne)
15 – Elliot Yeo (West Coast Eagles)
13 – Dayne Beams (Brisbane Lions)
13 – Shaun Higgins (North Melbourne)
13 – Dustin Martin (Richmond)
12 – Orazio Fantasia (Essendon)
12 – Joel Selwood (Geelong)
11 – Trent Cotchin (Richmond)
11 – Patrick Dangerfield (Geelong)