Eight members of the QBE Sydney Swans Academy have been selected in the NSW U12 representative team following the State Schoolboys championships held earlier this month.

It's a big achievement for the young footballers, who have been named in the 23-player PSSA Merit Team for 2021 - a team traditionally also known as the NSW Blue Pups.

Earlier this month the players each represented their school zone at the 13-team NSW Public Schools Sports Association carnival, which was held in Byron Bay.

The annual carnival brings together primary school-aged footballers from every corner of the state and involves both public and private school teams.

Catholic schools' representative team, MacKillop, which includes boys from Sydney, Wollongong and Wagga Wagga, won the 2021 Championship.

The combined NSW U12 team usually goes on to play in the annual National Primary School Australian Football Championships, but they have been cancelled this year due to ongoing coronavirus restrictions.

The NSW Blue Pups team is a strong breeding ground, and current Sydney Swans stars including Isaac Heeney and Callum Mills were both in the side when they were in primary school.

The Academy is proud of all players who participated in the Carnival, and in particular would like to congratulate the below players who have been named in the 2021 NSW PSSA Australian Football Merit Team.

From the Academy's U11 squad:

Rafael Micheletti - Lane Cove Public School; Willoughby Wildcats

From the Academy's U12 squad:

Monte Cairns - Sydney Grammar; Mosman Swans

Joshua Dann - St. Francis de Sales, Woolooware; Cronulla Sharks

Claude Gatehouse - St. Augustine’s, Brookvale; Balgowlah Suns

Coen Hardy - Our Lady Star of the Sea, Miranda; Cronulla Sharks

Charlie McLennan (pictured) - St. Augustine’s, Brookvale; Manly Bombers

Hugh Taylor - Mosman Prep; Mosman Swans

Liam Taylor - Castle Cove Public School; Willoughby Wildcats