Sydney Swans duo Luke Parker and Tom Papley lead the way with eight votes for the AFL Coaches Association’s AFL Champion Player Award following Sydney’s 26-point victory over the GWS Giants in the Sydney Derby XXI at Metricon Stadium on Sunday night.

Parker, who claimed his third Brett Kirk Medal, had a game high 31 disposals, 6 tackles, 9 clearances, 11 scoring involvements and one goal.

Papley earnt himself two goal of the year nominations following his four goal, 13 disposal inspiring performance.

George Hewett polled 5 votes from his busy performance that saw him finish with 30 disposals, 6 tackles, 7 clearances and five scoring involvements.

Teammates Justin McInerney, Josh Kennedy and Lance Franklin all polled two votes whilst GWS Giants Harry Perryman polled three votes.

8 Luke Parker (SYD)
8 Tom Papley (SYD)
5 George Hewett (SYD)
3 Harry Perryman (GWS)
2 Justin McInerney (SYD)
2 Josh Kennedy (SYD)
2 Lance Franklin (SYD)

Following Round 18, Mills still sits as the highest polling Sydney player on the leaderboard with 37 votes. Ruckman Tom Hickey sits second with 34 votes. Parker’s 8 votes sees the co-captain sit third with 29 votes.

Western Bulldogs Marcus Bontempelli leads the tally with 85 votes. Click here for the full leaderboard.

The AFL Coaches Association’s AFL Champion Player Award is an award voted by the 18 coaching panels on a 5,4,3,2,1 basis after each home and away game, acknowledging outstanding effort by an individual player in a season.

06:00 Mins
Published on

Match Highlights: Sydney Derby XXI

The Giants and Swans clash in round 18

Published on