The Sydney Swans will take an experienced squad into Friday night's inter-club match against GWS, with skipper Josh Kennedy and star forward Lance Franklin to be rolled out at Marrickville's Henson Park.

In place of the yearly intraclub, the Swans and Giants will square off in a cross-city practice match to keep the wheels rolling while the JLT Community Series kicks off elsewhere across the country.

Only eight clubs are in action in the opening week of the pre-season competition, giving the Swans and Giants the chance to break loose over a four-quarter fully-officiated contest.

Having recovered fully from off-season surgeries, Kennedy and Franklin have injected some extra star power in a Swans squad that boasts nearly 2000 games of AFL experience.

Kennedy will re-join his vice-captain Luke Parker in the centre for the opening bounce while the twin towers Franklin and Sam Reid will again work in tendem in front of goal.

Despite proving himself quite the (zooper) goal-kicker in last weekend's AFLX Tournament, Dane Rampe finds himself in his more familiar surrounds at full-back, flanked by talented small defenders Jake Lloyd and Nick Smith.

In Heath Grundy's absence, Aliir Aliir gets an opportunity alongside fellow key Lewis Melican to help contain the Giants' potent forward line.

Swans fans will also, for the first time this season, get to see Ryley Stoddart, the Club's third pick in the 2017 National Draft, in action while fellow draftee Tom McCartin gets another chance in the red and white again after showing glimpses of his work ethic in the AFLX.

The inter-club is the Swans and Giants final chance to put everything in place before the pre-season competition begins.

The Swans fly to Queensland for their first game, against Brisbane at Moreton Bay, before a rematch with the Giants in week three at Blacktown International Sportspark.

2018 Inter-club
Sydney Swans v GWS Giants
Friday, March 23, at 5.30pm
Henson Park, Marrickville

Sydney's squad

1 James Rose

6 Jordan Foote

7 Harry Cunningham

11 Tom Papley

12 Josh Kennedy

13 Oliver Florent

15 Kieren Jack

16 Gary Rohan

17 Darcy Cameron

18 Callum Sinclair

20 Sam Reid

22 Dean Towers

23 Lance Franklin

24 Dane Rampe

25 Ben Ronke

26 Luke Parker

27 Dan Robinson

28 Nic Newman

29 George Hewett

30 Tom McCartin

31 Harry Marsh

33 Ryley Stoddart

35 Sam Naismith

36 Aliir Aliir

38 Colin O’Riordan

40 Nick Smith

42 Robbie Fox

43 Lewis Melican

44 Jake Lloyd


GWS' squad

2 Jacob Hopper

3 Stephen Coniglio

5 Dylan Shiel

6 Lachie Whitfield

8 Callan Ward

10 Aidan Bonar

11 Will Setterfield

12 Jonny Patton

14 Tim Taranto

18 Jeremy Cameron

19 Nick Haynes

20 Adam Tomlinson

22 Josh Kelly

23 Heath Shaw

24 Matt de Boer

25 Lachie Keeffe

26 Dawson Simpson

27 Harry Himmelberg

30 Matt Flynn

31 Jeremy Finlayson

32 Ryan Griffen

33 Lachie Tiziani

34 Nick Shipley

38 Daniel Lloyd

39 Tim Mohr

41 Jack Buckley

42 Jake Stein

43 Dylan Buckley

50 Sam Reid