Essendon v Sydney Swans – Round 16
Saturday July 2, 1.45pm AEST

INS: Justin McInerney
OUTS: Ryan Clarke (omitted)

The Sydney Swans have made one change to the team ahead of their Round 16 fixture against Essendon at the MCG, with Justin McInerney to come back into the side.

The Swans defeated the Bombers by 58-points in Round 9, but Senior Coach John Longmire says a lot has changed in seven weeks since they last met.

“We’ve looked at what Essendon do particularly over the last month, a lot of their stats have improved through the roof,” said Longmire.

“We’re mindful of the style of footy they’re playing at the moment, it’s a very good strong style of footy and we’ll have to play well.

The Swans will be chasing back to back wins, with Longmire confident his side can continue the form that saw them deliver a 51-point victory over St Kilda last weekend.

“We have to look for that four-quarter consistent performance, and make sure that we have an even contribution across the board from everyone. It’s an important game for us back at the MCG and we look forward to it,” said Longmire.

The clash will be a special occasion for the club, with Swans co-captain Luke Parker to celebrate his 250th game milestone.

“From the moment he walked into the place we knew we had a competitor. He just goes about his business, trains and plays at the same standard every week which isn’t an easy thing to do. He’s been able to put together a career so far of doing that most weeks, and that’s all you can ask for from one of your senior players,” said Longmire.

Get all the important information in our Match Day Hub ahead of Round 16

01:42 Mins
Published on

Round 16 Team Selection, presented by QBE

John Longmire confirms one change for our match against Essendon at the MCG on Saturday.

Published on

ROUND 16 - Essendon v Sydney Swans, MCG - Saturday, July 2, 2022.

Backs Robbie Fox Tom McCartin Dane Rampe
Half Backs Justin McInerney Paddy McCartin Jake Lloyd
Centreline Errol Gulden Callum Mills Ollie Florent
Half Forwards Will Hayward Sam Reid Dylan Stephens
Forwards Isaac Heeney Lance Franklin Tom Papley
Followers Tom Hickey Luke Parker James Rowbottom
Interchange Nick Blakey Braeden Campbell Logan McDonald
  Chad Warner    
Emergencies Ryan Clarke Will Gould Ben Ronke
  Peter Ladhams