The AFL Players Association has named its 2023 AFLW 22Under22 44-man squad, presented by Local Expert, which features five players from the Sydney Swans.

Laura Gardiner, Ally Morphett, Ella Heads, Cynthia Hamilton and co-captain Lucy McEvoy have all been named after all enjoying blistering seasons in the 2023 NAB AFL Season.

Gardiner, who finished second in the AFLW Champion Player of the Year award, has enjoyed an incredible first year in the red and white, averaging 29.7 and nine tackles per game.

Ally Morphett and Ella Heads have also played an imperative part of the Swans historic surge to the finals, earning Rising Star Nominations in Round 1 and 5 respectively.

Co-captain Lucy McEvoy has also steered from the front in her maiden Swans campaign, while Cynthia Hamilton continued her strong performances from 2022 that saw her claim the inaugural Club Champion award.

22Under22, presented by Local Expert, is a fan-voted concept that recognises the best 22 players aged 22 and under for the entirety of the season (including Grand Final day).



For a player to be eligible for the squad of 44, they are required to play 50 per cent of the home and away season, equating to five matches. 

The concept was first introduced in 2013 in the men’s competition to reward the young players who make an impact on their club and the competition so early in their careers. 

Voting is open for seven days from November 9th to November 15th

The final team will be announced on November 22nd via the AFL Players’ Association’s social media channels.

Visit our Finals Hub for everything you need to know ahead of our Elimination Final at Heritage Bank Stadium. Heading to the game? Purchase tickets, HERE.