Sydney Swans AFLW stars Lucy McEvoy, Ally Morphett, Laura Gardiner and Ella Heads have capped of stunning individual seasons with selection in the 2023 AFLW 22Under22 team.

Following a club record five players appearing in the initial squad, including gun forward Cynthia Hamiton, four Swans have featured in the final team, as chosen by the fans.

All four players make their maiden 22Under22 appearance.

Gardiner, who arrived at the Swans this season, finished the season amongst the best players in the competition, averaging 29.1 disposals, 9.1 tackles and 5.7 clearances per game. 


Meanwhile, co-captain Lucy McEvoy's leadership came to the fore in her first season in the red and white, enjoying a consistent campaign and solidifying the side's defensive unit alongside Heads, who earned a Rising Star nomination in Round 5.

Heads, a QBE Sydney Swans Academy product, is one of three players to have played every game in the last two seasons, with Brenna Tarrant and Sofia Hurley the only other two players to do the same.

Ally Morphett also burst onto the scene in 2023, building a reputation as the best ruck in the competition following her blistering start to the season. Morphett earned a Rising Star Nomination in Round 1, and was one of the Swans most consistent performers before injury cruelly ended her season. 


She averaged 17.9 disposals and 29.3 hit-outs per game. 

The nominations conclude a memorable season for the four players, who played significant roles int he Swans fairytale run to the second week of the finals. 

22Under22 is a fan-voted initiative that recognises the best 22 players aged 22 and under for the entirety of the season (including Grand Final day). For a player to be eligible, they were required to play 50 per cent of home and away season games (five matches) and were rewarded for their consistency across the season.

How 22Under22 works:

  • Chair of Selectors and former Melbourne and Geelong player, Melissa Hickey, and an internal selection panel at the AFL Players’ Association selects a squad of 44 players.
  • All 18 AFLW clubs are provided with the opportunity to nominate players and their primary positions to be in consideration for the squad of 44 players.
  • Fans then had the opportunity to decide the final 22 by voting via
  • The fan whose team best matches the final squad wins a $150 Prezzee voucher, thanks to Local Expert.