After an emphatic win over the Geelong Cats on Sunday the Sydney Swans have dominated coaches votes with five players named after Round 13. The midfield once again impressed and polled in the top three votes. 

Isaac Heeney was awarded nine for his talent across the ground including 26 disposals, five tackles and two goals. Outside the stats the 28-year-old used his football IQ and leadership presence to drive the team towards goal. 

Errol Gulden was the leading ball winner for his side and finished the game with a massive 37 disposals and snapped a brilliant left-foot goal. He proved to be important in defence and also landed five tackles, earning eight votes.


Chad Warner nabbed seven votes thanks to two goals and 26 disposals, his speed on show against the Cats.

Tom Papley was recognised with three votes after a goal-kicking spree late in the game, while Brodie Grundy earned two votes after 34 hit outs, 24 disposals and 11 score involvements.

Heeney remains on top of the leaderboard with a total 80 votes. Collingwood's Nick Daicos trails in second place by 13 votes. Warner has since crept into fourth position on 55 votes and Gulden in ninth. 


9 Isaac Heeney (SYD)
8 Errol Gulden (SYD)
7 Chad Warner (SYD)
3 Tom Papley (SYD)
2 Brodie Grundy (SYD)
1 Jeremy Cameron (SYD)

 Click here to view the full Champion Player of the Year Award Leaderboard.

The AFL Coaches Association’s AFL Champion Player Award is an award voted by the 18 coaching panels on a 5,4,3,2,1 basis after each home and away game, acknowledging outstanding effort by an individual player in a season.

The Swans travel to South Australia this week ahead of a Saturday night blockbuster against the Adelaide Crows.