Main content
Proudly Sydney

Key off-season dates - 2019

MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - MAY 27: Sydney Swans recruiting staff are seen during the 2019 NAB AFL Mid-Season Rookie Draft at AFL House on May 27, 2019 in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Dylan Burns/AFL Photos)
MELBOURNE, AUSTRALIA - MAY 27: Sydney Swans recruiting staff are seen during the 2019 NAB AFL Mid-Season Rookie Draft at AFL House on May 27, 2019 in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Dylan Burns/AFL Photos)

Despite the end of the home and away season there is still plenty to happening over the next few months of the seaosn as the players prepare for a return to training.

Keep up to date with all the key dates to put in your calendar for the off-season outlined below.

Wednesday 28 August – AFL All Australian Award

Friday 30 August – NAB AFL Rising Star

Friday 30 August – EJ Whitten Legends Game

Tuesday 17 September - 2019 Bob Skilton Medal – The Star Events Centre

Monday 23 September - Brownlow Medal Count and Dinner

Saturday 28 September - AFL Grand Final Day

Tuesday 1 October - Friday 4 October - NAB AFL Draft Combine

Friday 4 October - 
AFL Restricted Free Agency Offer and Unrestricted Free Agency Period Commences.

Monday 7 October 9am - NAB AFL Trade Period Commences.

Thursday 10 October 5pm - Close of AFL Restricted Free Agency Offer and Unrestricted Free Agency Period.

Sunday 13 October - AFL Restricted Free Agency Matching Offer Three-Day Period Ends. 

Wednesday 16 October - NAB AFL Trade Period Closes (for exchange of players).

Thursday 17 October - AFL Trade Period Opens (selections only).

Friday 18 October 5pm - Application to Relist a Player Close

Thursday 31 October 2pm - List Lodgement (1) ; Rookie Promotion to Primary List; Retained 2nd & 3rd Year Rookies; International Scholarship Player; Alternate Talent Player Nominations; Club Notification of Rookie Players Not Accepting a Contract of Offer; Nomination of Draft Eligible Father/Son; Northern Academy, Next Generation Academy Players Lodged; TPP Pre-Season Estimates (1).

Friday 1 November - AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (1) Commences
Monday 11 November- AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (1) Closes, Out of Contract Listed AFLPrimary List Players Draft Nomination Form and Player Request for Removal from List Form Lodged with AFL

Tuesday 12 November 2pm - List Lodgement (2); TPP Pre-Season Estimates (2)

Wednesday 13 November - AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (2) Commences

Friday 22 November 2pm - NAB AFL Trade Period Closes (for exchange of selections only); Delisted Primary List Draft Nomination Form Lodgement; Non–Retained Rookie Players Draft Nomination Form Lodgement; Players Not Registered or Played for Three years Rookie List Form Lodgement; New or Expired (after 3 years) Draft Nomination Form Lodgement, AFL Father-Son Bidding Nominations, Final Draft Nomination Form Lodgement.

Friday 22 November 5pm - AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (2) Closes

Wednesday 27 November 7pm - 9.30pm - NAB AFL Draft Selection Meeting (Round One), Marvel Stadium.

Thursday 28 November 7pm - 9.30pm - NAB AFL Draft Selection Meeting (Round Two onwards to conclusion).

Thursday 28 November (post draft) - AFL Delisted Player Free Agency Period (3)

Monday 2 December 2pm - Final AFL Club List Lodgement