The player judged best on ground will be presented with the Goodes-O’Loughlin Medal, to honour the contribution of Swans greats Adam Goodes and Michael O’Loughlin.

Goodes retired last season after 372 games in the red and white. His much-decorated career includes two Brownlow Medals, two AFL premierships (2005 and 2012), three Bob Skilton Medals, the 1999 AFL Rising Star Award, being named in the Indigenous Team of the Century and four All Australian accolades. In 2014, Goodes was named Australian of the Year.

O’Loughlin played 303 games at the Swans from 1995-2009. A member of the Swans’ 2005 premiership team, O’Loughlin won the Swans’ best and fairest award in 1998, is a dual All-Australian and was named in the Indigenous Team of the Century. In 2015 he was inducted into the Australian Football Hall of Fame. Most recently O’Loughlin was the coach of the QBE Sydney Swans Academy.

SwansTV went behind the scenes for the construction of the medal proudly made by Design Awards.