Sydney Swans greats Adam Goodes and Michael O’Loughlin are honoured with a medal named in their honour presented to the best on ground at Marn Grook at the SCG. 

Unfortunately on Friday night there won’t be a Goodes-O’Loughlin Medal handed out at the SCG but we thought it was important to reflect on the history of the award.

Formally announced in 2016 the Goodes-O’Loughlin Medal is awarded to the player judged best afield in a tribute to two of the greatest Indigenous players to have graced the AFL arena.

Since the introduction of the award four Swans players have won the Goodes-O’Loughlin Medal with Tom Mitchell (2016), Lance Franklin (2017), Isaac Heeney (2018) and Sam Reid (2019) winning the award.

Adam Goodes retired at the end of the 2015 season after 372 games in the red and white. His decorated career including two Brownlow Medals, two AFL premierships (2005 and 2012), three Bob Skilton Medals, 1999 AFL Rising Star award, being named in the Indigenous Team of the Century and four All Australian accolades. Goodes was named Australian of the Year in 2014.

Michael O’Loughlin played 303 games at the Swans from 1995-2009. A member of the Swans’ 2005 premiership team, O’Loughlin won the Swans’ best and fairest award in 1998, is a dual All-Australian and was named in the Indigenous Team of the Century. In 2015 he was inducted into the Australian Football Hall of Fame.

Both Goodes and O’Loughlin have worked to stamp out racism and advocate for Indigenous youth through the Goodes-O’Loughlin (GO) Foundation. The GO Foundation is the Swans partner for Sir Doug Nicholls Round.

Goodes-O’Loughlin Medal winners

2016: Tom Michell

2017: Lance Franklin

2018: Isaac Heeney

2019: Sam Reid

01:03 Mins
Published on

Making of the Goodes-O'Loughlin Medal

A close-up look at how the Goodes-O'Loughlin medal was constructed.

Published on