The Sydney Swans have made two changes to the team for Saturday's Round 5 match, the 20th edition of the Sydney Derby.

Isaac Heeney (hand) and Dane Rampe (finger) both sustained injuries in Round 4 against Essendon and will miss Sydney Derby XX.

Will Hayward and Lewis Melican, both with senior experience, come into the team for their first games of the season after impressive performances in the recent VFL practice matches.

“We bring in two players who have played quite a bit of league footy for us, coach John Longmire said.

“Will up front and Lewis down back will help fill the roles for our specific needs.”

James Rowbottom, who has missed the last three weeks with a knee injury will return but at VFL level, with the Sydney Swans playing their first VFL match against the Giants on Saturday at Lakeside Oval, as a precursor to Sydney Derby XX.

“He (Rowbottom) got through training well and we’d like to see him play at the reserves level this week and hopefully get through that and he will be ready to go after that,” Longmire said.

The Swans go into Sydney Derby XX having started the season with four wins, meanwhile the Giants come off a win on the road against Collingwood and John Longmire expects another tough contest.

“Both teams are pretty similar with some experience and some youth, it’s going to be a really good game,” Longmire said.

“We expect, as always, a physical game, that’s always the case when we play against our cross town rivals.

"Hopefully it’s done in front of a big crowd and we have a good atmosphere at the SCG.”

In the nine-year history of the Sydney Derby, the Swans have recorded twelve Sydney Derby wins and the Giants seven.

The first Sydney Derby was played in Round 1, 2012, the Swans victorious by 63 points at Stadium Australia. 

The last Sydney Derby was won by the Swans, ending a three-game Sydney Derby winning streak by the Giants. The game was played in unique circumstances, in Perth at Optus Stadium, due to the Covid-19 affected 2020 season.

Best on Ground will be awarded the Brett Kirk Medal which will be voted on by three members of the media.

The match kicks off at 4.35pm on Saturday at the SCG and will be broadcast on Fox Footy, Kayo Sports and 7Mate.

Backs Harry Cunningham Tom McCartin Braeden Campbell
Half Backs Jordan Dawson Lewis Melican Jake Lloyd
Centreline Ollie Florent Callum Mills Justin McInerney
Half Forwards Luke Parker Logan McDonald Tom Papley
Forwards Sam Reid Lance Franklin Sam Wicks
Followers Tom Hickey Josh Kennedy Chad Warner
Interchange George Hewett Errol Gulden Nick Blakey
  Will Hayward    
Emergencies James Bell Callum Sinclair Dylan Stephens
  Sam Gray


Be there LIVE in the popular twilight timeslot – ideal for fans of all ages, and a great school holidays activity! Click here to purchase your tickets.

01:47 Mins
Published on

Round 5 Team Selection presented by QBE

John Longmire chats through the team line-up ahead of Sydney Derby XX on Saturday afternoon at the SCG.

Published on