Reigning Sydney Swans Club Champion Jake Lloyd polled three votes in the AFL Coaches’ Association’s Champion Player of the Year award for his performance in Saturday’s loss to the Western Bulldogs.

The 25-year-old defender recorded a game-high 35 disposals, collected a match-high 10 marks and operated at a disposal efficiency of 85 per cent in the season-opening Marvel Stadium clash.

The Bulldogs gathered the remaining votes, with Marcus Bontempelli (10 votes), Tom Liberatore (five), Aaron Naughton (five), Jack Macrae (four), Mitch Wallis (two) and Caleb Daniel (one) all producing strong games.

Round 1 – Sydney Swans v Western Bulldogs

10 Marcus Bontempelli (WB)

5 Aaron Naughton (WB)

5 Tom Liberatore (WB)

4 Jack Macrae (WB)

3 Jake Lloyd (SYD)

2 Mitch Wallis (WB)

1 Caleb Daniel (WB)


10 Marcus Bontempelli

10 Stephen Coniglio

10 Trent Cotchin

10 Tim Kelly

10 Hugh McCluggage

10 Justin Westhoff

10 James Worpel

9 Nat Fyfe

8 Josh Bruce

8 Kane Lambert

8 Tim Taranto

7 Travis Boak

7 Brayden Fiorini

7 Tom Rockliff

6 Patrick Cripps

6 Bradley Hill

6 James Sicily

6 Rory Sloane

5 Jeremy Cameron

5 Patrick Dangerfield