Sydney Swans forward Isaac Heeney has received the full 10 votes for the AFL Coaches Association’s AFL Champion Player Award following his masterclass performance in Sydney’s victory over Fremantle on Sunday afternoon.

Heeney was one of four Swans who polled votes, with Josh Kennedy (8), Luke Parker (6) and Errol Gulden (2) also polling votes.

Heeney starred with 5 goals, a crucial smother and a game changing mark that saw him earn a Mark of the Year nomination.

Kennedy had a busy afternoon, with a game-high 34 disposals, 16 contested possessions, seven tackles, seven clearances, three inside-50s and five scoring involvements.

Parker was not far behind with 30 disposals, 11 contested possessions, three tackles, three clearances, seven inside-50s and six scoring involvements.

Gulden finished the afternoon with one goal, 23 disposals, five tackles, nine contested possessions, four inside-50s and six scoring involvements.

10 Isaac Heeney (SYD)
8 Josh Kennedy (SYD)
6 Luke Parker (SYD)
4 Adam Cerra (FRE)
2 Errol Gulden (SYD)

02:39 Mins
Published on

Heeney's human highlight reel

Isaac Heeney conjured a typically brilliant performance that included five goals and an unbelievable hanger

Published on

Following Round 19, Heeney now equals teammate Callum Mills as the highest polling Sydney player on the leaderboard with 37 votes. Luke Parker moves into second with 35 votes while ruckman Tom Hickey sits third with 34 votes.

Western Bulldogs Marcus Bontempelli leads the tally with 94 votes. Click here for the full leaderboard.

The AFL Coaches Association’s AFL Champion Player Award is an award voted by the 18 coaching panels on a 5,4,3,2,1 basis after each home and away game, acknowledging outstanding effort by an individual player in a season.

Heeney's 10 votes also sees the forward make a giant leap into contention for this year’s Carey Bunton Medal for the best player from NSW in the AFL based on the votes for the AFL Coaches Association Award.

The former Cardiff player is now within reach of leader Jacob Hopper (GWS Giants), who has accumulated 48 votes so far this season, and Adelaide key forward Taylor Walker is now only one vote in front of Heeney.

The Carey-Bunton Medal recognises the best NSW-bred player in the AFL, with the medal will be awarded to the NSW player who records the most votes in the AFL Coaches Association’s Champion Player of the Year Award. The leaderboard after is below.

Carey-Bunton Medal Leaderboard
48 Jacob Hopper (Leeton-Whitton) - GWS Giants
38 Taylor Walker (North Broken Hill) – Adelaide
37 Isaac Heeney (Cardiff) - Sydney Swans (R19 10 votes v FRE)
37 Callum Mills (Mosman) - Sydney Swans
33 Tom Hawkins (Finley) – Geelong (R19 4 votes v RIC)
11 Errol Gulden (UNSW-Eastern Suburbs) - Sydney Swans (R19 2 votes v FRE)
10 Sam Wicks (Manly-Warringah) – Sydney Swans
10 Zach Williams (Narrandera) – Carlton
8 Lachie Schultz ((Moama) – Fremantle
8 Luke Breust (Temora) – Hawthorn
7 Matthew Kennedy (Collingullie)
6 Jacob Koschitzke (Albury) – Hawthorn
6 Dane Rampe (UNSW-Eastern Suburbs) Sydney Swans
6 Jeremy Finlayson (Culcairn) – GWS Giants
6 Harry Perryman (Collingullie) - GWS Giants
5 Braeden Campbell (Pennant Hills) – Sydney Swans
5 Taylor Duryea (Corowa) – Western Bulldogs
4 Harry Cunningham (Turvey Park) - Sydney Swans
4 Dougal Howard (Wagga Tigers) – St Kilda
3 Matthew Flynn (Narrandera) - GWS Giants
3 Isaac Smith (Cootamundra) – Geelong
2 Harry Himmelberg (Mangoplah-Cookardinia United) – GWS Giants
2 Jarrad Witts (Sydney University) – Gold Coast
2 Todd Marshall (Deniliquin) – Port Adelaide