Sydney Swans forward Tom Papley leads the way, claiming nine for the AFL Coaches Association’s AFL Champion Player Award for his performance in Sunday’s victory over the Bombers at the MCG in Round 20.

Papley kicked four goals in the 7-point victory, including a crucial third quarter where he kicked three majors, one earning an AFL Goal of the Year nomination.

Midfielders Callum Mills (5) and Luke Parker (2) also claimed votes from the clash.

Mills had a team high 33 disposals at 87.9% disposal efficiency, 6 tackles and 5 scoring involvements in his return to the action after seeing the past fortnight in quarantine.

Parker had a busy afternoon once again, finishing with 26 disposals at 88.5% disposal efficiency, 4 tackles, 9 clearances, 7 scoring involvements and 11 contested possessions.

9 Zach Merrett (ESS)
9 Tom Papley (SYD)
5 Jake Stringer (ESS)
5 Callum Mills (SYD)
2 Luke Parker (SYD)

Following Round 20, Mills now leads as the highest polling Sydney player on the leaderboard with 42 votes. Luke Parker moves into equal second with 37 votes alongside Isaac Heeney while ruckman Tom Hickey sits fourth with 34 votes.

Melbourne’s Clayton Oliver leads the tally with 101 votes. Click here for the full leaderboard.

The AFL Coaches Association’s AFL Champion Player Award is an award voted by the 18 coaching panels on a 5,4,3,2,1 basis after each home and away game, acknowledging outstanding effort by an individual player in a season.

07:57 Mins
Published on

Match Highlights: Sydney Swans v Essendon, Round 20

See all the match highlights from Sunday's thriller at the MCG

Published on

Mills' five votes also sees him closing on leader GWS Giants Jacob Hopper (48 votes) in this year’s Carey Bunton Medal for the best player from NSW in the AFL. Mills 42 votes has seen him pass Adelaide key forward Taylor Walker (38 votes), who was the early season leader.

The Carey-Bunton Medal recognises the best NSW-bred player in the AFL, with the medal will be awarded to the NSW player who records the most votes in the AFL Coaches Association’s Champion Player of the Year Award. The leaderboard after Round 20 is below.

48 Jacob Hopper (Leeton-Whitton) - GWS Giants
42 Callum Mills (Mosman) - Sydney Swans (R20 5 votes v ESS)
38 Taylor Walker (North Broken Hill) – Adelaide
37 Isaac Heeney (Cardiff) - Sydney Swans
33 Tom Hawkins (Finley) – Geelong
11 Errol Gulden (UNSW-Eastern Suburbs) - Sydney Swans
10 Sam Wicks (Manly-Warringah) – Sydney Swans
10 Zach Williams (Narrandera) – Carlton
8 Lachie Schultz ((Moama) – Fremantle
8 Luke Breust (Temora) – Hawthorn
7 Matthew Kennedy (Collingullie)
7 Isaac Smith (Cootamundra) – Geelong (R20 4 votes v NM)
6 Jacob Koschitzke (Albury) – Hawthorn
6 Dane Rampe (UNSW-Eastern Suburbs) Sydney Swans
6 Jeremy Finlayson (Culcairn) – GWS Giants
6 Harry Perryman (Collingullie) - GWS Giants 
5 Braeden Campbell (Pennant Hills) – Sydney Swans
5 Taylor Duryea (Corowa) – Western Bulldogs
4 Harry Cunningham (Turvey Park) - Sydney Swans
4 Dougal Howard (Wagga Tigers) – St Kilda
3 Matthew Flynn (Narrandera) - GWS Giants
2 Harry Himmelberg (Mangoplah-Cookardinia United) – GWS Giants
2 Jarrad Witts (Sydney University) – Gold Coast
2 Todd Marshall (Deniliquin) – Port Adelaide