Aspiring AFLW players will get their chance to stake their claim for a spot on the senior list when the Female Winter Series kicks off this weekend. 

Members of the QBE Sydney Swans Academy's Open squad and Futures Squad will play in the elite series from May to July, with game one to see the Swans take on the Giants at North Sydney Oval. 

With the Swans AFLW list beginning to take shape, the Female Winter Series provides AFLW coaching staff with another opportunity to see athletes skills put to the test in high pressure competitive circumstances. 

“We see The Winter Series as pivotal to the continued development and education of our academy players and vital to our AFLW list build,” says AFLW Senior Assistant Coach and Female Academy coach Baker Denneman.

“We want to see players exposed to elite talent from other programs and evaluate them across a series of high-level games."

AFLW Development Coach Bronwyn Gulden adds the Winter series will continue the learnings gained and work on the processes required for positive results and success moving forward.

“We had some varied results throughout the Summer Series with the Red team showing gradual improvement whilst overcoming the difficulty of limited training time together as a group,” says Gulden.

Throughout the duration of the Female Winter Series, the Sydney Swans academy will train and compete at North Sydney Oval.

“The girls have been very excited by the opportunity to not only train at such a venue, but also compete and play games at the prestigious ground,” says Gulden.

“It all became real for the girls when the North Sydney Mayor Zoe Baker dropped in for a visit on Wednesday night. We hope to continue to build on this strong relationship with the North Sydney Council and make this a venue in which we can utilise for both the Academy and AFLW programs moving forward.”

Follow along the action on Day One of the Female Winter Series via the live stream links below.
- Tasmania v Northern Territory - Sunday May 15, 2022. 11am
- Sydney Swans v GWS Giants - Sunday May 15, 2022. 1:15pm


Dakota Mason:
Dakota is a hardworking midfielder, who plays with a style that is adaptable to both the contested and uncontested side of the game. Her running capacity allows her to be a presence through the stoppage but also on the spread. She is an on-ground leader and an individual who has put a substantial power of work in over the past few years, through the Swans Academy, to ensure she gives herself the best opportunity moving forward.

Maddie Hendrie:
Standing at 181cm tall, Maddie possesses athletic ability to play a multitude of roles across the ground. Previously having played majority of her football and representing both Swans Academy and Allies as a forward, the summer series allowed Maddie to be exposed in both the ruck and through the midfield group, where we are excited to see her grow.

Asha Turner-Funk:
Asha is a strong midfielder who has the ability to work from contest to contest and use her powerful right foot to open the game up. She is a smart footballer, who reads the game well and gives not only herself, but her teammates the best opportunity to influence throughout the game.

Olivia Edwards:
Having previously been involved with the NSW/ACT Rams and the Eastern Allies back in 2019 (with both Zoe Hurell and Brenna Tarrant). Olivia has continued to build and strengthen her game in the Sydney Women’s Premier Division competition. Playing with the North Shore Bombers, she has continually impressed and was rewarded with the opportunity to be apart of the NSW/ACT AFLW Summer Series earlier this year. The ability to consistently cover the ground at high speed, is a trait that encompasses Olivia’s game, and one that has been impressive in the lead up to the Winter Series.

TEAM LIST - Swans Academy v Giants Academy, North Sydney Oval
1:15pm - Sunday May 15.

1. Brooke Bailey
2. Hannah Cerezo
3. Freya Taylor
4. Kyla Tracey
5. Olivia Cameron
6. April Devine
7. Olivia Edwards
8. Summer Hall
9. Maddy Hendrie
10. Dakota Mason
11. Hannah Woolf
12. Lisa Steane
13. Roxy Beuzevill
14. Madeline Convery
15. Nellie Hicks
16. Emily Newton
17. Sophie Phillips
18. Asha Turner-Funk
19. Rebecca Privitelli
31. Kate Reynolds
32. Jayme Saggers
Coach: Baker Denneman
Team Manager: Oriane Villiers